killogroups.blogg.se

My book essential 1tb firmware
My book essential 1tb firmware










my book essential 1tb firmware
  1. #MY BOOK ESSENTIAL 1TB FIRMWARE HOW TO#
  2. #MY BOOK ESSENTIAL 1TB FIRMWARE MOVIE#
  3. #MY BOOK ESSENTIAL 1TB FIRMWARE INSTALL#
my book essential 1tb firmware

Oxford don't seem to be big on releasing anything to the general public, but after a while I found an Oxford firmware updater at the FireWire Depot. You can't flash a firmware without flashing software, so I went in search of anything related to Oxford controllers. Google also revealed that the controller in the MyBook was an Oxford Semiconductor OXUF924DSb, further hmmmmmGlavin! boffin info here. As the MyBook was now a shiny paper-weight and I had no desire to return the device with my data on it, I took to it with a screwdriver, and then took it apart (I have more recently discovered that there are a couple of guides to doing this - 320Gb Premium Edition, 500Gb Essential Edition) but disassembly is not difficult anyway.Īfter removing the drive and backing up my data, I examined the MyBook's circuitry and found that the flash memory was a SST39LF200A, which is a Silicon Storage Technology128K x16 CMOS Flash (more reading here). As all those in a similar position know, this situation is something of a catch-22 the MyBook cannot be returned as it still has sensitive data on it, and opening it will void the warranty.

#MY BOOK ESSENTIAL 1TB FIRMWARE HOW TO#

If you're in the same boat and desperate to get to the instructions on how to recover your MyBook, click here.Ī quick search showed many others in the same situation as myself, but with no solution to restore the MyBook to a fully working state. Half way through the updating process, directly after erasing the firmware on the MyBook, the updater encountered an error leaving me with a completely unusable drive. We designed a small box and used recycled material to minimize waste.I recently suffered the same fate as many others when attempting to upgrade my Western Digital MyBook Pro external drive to the latest firmware revision, 1.08a. USB-powered directly from the USB port on your PC. * A model with disabled encryption is also available. Gain peace of mind knowing that your data is protected from unauthorized access with password protection and encryption.* Whenever you add or change a file it’s instantly backed up. Works quietly in the background to protect your data using minimal PC resources.

#MY BOOK ESSENTIAL 1TB FIRMWARE INSTALL#

Install all the features, select just the components you need, or if you prefer, choose not to use the software at all. We are successful because we understand the importance of your data and our first concern is keeping that data safe.

my book essential 1tb firmware

Store all your favorite photos, music, movies, and important files on this high-capacity, portable drive.įor over 20 years, millions of people worldwide have trusted their data to WD hard drives.

#MY BOOK ESSENTIAL 1TB FIRMWARE MOVIE#

Transfer a 2-hour HD movie in just under five minutes instead of 14 minutes.* *Performance may vary based on user’s hardware and system configuration. When connected to a USB 3.0 port this drive lets you access and save files up to three times faster than USB 2.0. Visual backup software and password protection with hardware encryption ensure your data is protected. Maximum capacity in a portable drive lets you carry your digital life with you. The world’s number one selling portable drive features USB 2.0 connectivity for compatibility today and speed for the future. Western Digital WDBACW0010HBK My Book Essential External 1TB - USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Brand New












My book essential 1tb firmware